Home
Favorite Fangames
Blog

This is my space to write whatever ramdom thoughts I want to :P.


Date: 4/6/24
Title: Yume 2kki map making ^w^

As is evident from my Favorite Fangames page on this site, I enjoy Yume 2kki (and Yume Nikki!) a lot! That's why I have recently started learning how to make content for the game :D. I have a couple of maps that I would really like to make, and contributing to a game I enjoy so much would mean a lot to me.
Getting the developer environment setup was really tedious since the game is made with such old software and requires additional Japanese software and a locale, but once you know what you need to do it's pretty easy. Now I need to study how RPG Maker 2000 works and then I can get started on my maps! They definitely will NOT look like picrel, LOL. I was just testing out the editor and made that silly shitpost map. The maps I am actually planning on spending time making and adding to the game will be a graffiti beach and a palm tree city at dusk, so if you see those maps in-game later (hopefully) this year, you can say you heard about it here first B).


Date: 1/24/24
Title: New content on my Backloggd and Letterboxd

When I made this website, the reviews on my Letterboxd, Backloggd, and Goodreads were all basically empty. But now only the Goodreads is empty :,) ! Go ahead and check out my Letterboxd and especially my Backloggd if you want to hear more of my thoughts on media I've consumed. I've gotten kind of obsessed with Backlogged recently, lol. I'm looking forward to adding reviews for all the games I play and movies I watch from now on, and revisiting some old favorites to reasses them. Right now I am replaying the Mario and Luigi series on Nintendo's handhelds. Partners In Time is not as good as I remember it being when I was a kid...


Date: 1/14/24
Title: An observation about the Vs Dialga/Palkia song

I was listening to the Pokemon DP OST recently and I took a moment to think about and appreciate the song "Battle! (Dialga/Palkia)". The tonal shift 2/3 of the way through the song has always stuck out to me, and here is my interpretation of what it means. This song is an embodiment of the Pokemon ethos. It is a really common trope in Pokemon media for there to be a final showdown between the protagonist and some sort of head honcho who reduces pokemon down to statistics or tools. After this opponent is beaten by the protagonist, they realize how much fun they were having in that battle and they realign their goals from winning at all costs to simply having fun. Giovanni in Pokemon Origins and King Biruri from Pokemon Card GB2 are very clear examples of this trope! This song is that story of tyranny -> jubilation translated to music. Throughout the song, there are little peeks of a more lighthearted tune that pop up before quickly being overtaken by the quick and imposing instruments. But despite the narrative tension that this battle represents, the music cant help but to shift to a jubilant digression at 1:57 just because pokemon is so fun! I like to challenge myself with nuzlockes, draft leagues, the battle factory, and other pokemon challenges like that and I sometimes get frustrated by misses, crits, or other rng things like that. But I'll eventually always remember that this is just a game and that its all part of the fun, win or lose!